Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hardest Freshman Physics Question Ever!

1. Jan 22, 2014 #1
    Yes, very catchy title. But it also happens to be true! Here's the windup: This question comes from the Halliday and Resnick edition that was used in the 80's. I was a grad student at the time at a very prestigious department and somehow this question came to my attention. I couldn't figure it out. Soon, there was a group of four grad students losing sleep over it. I even took it to a very famous theoretical physicist. He smiled and laughed out loud, because he didn't see an obvious answer. Decades later, I ran into the author of another widely used freshman textbook and he just said well if the famous guy couldn't figure it out, neither could he! So this has bothered me for going on three decades. Hopefully somebody here can put my mind at ease. Remember, this is supposed to be freshman level.

It is a "qualitative" question.

Drum roll....

If you take a flat object (like a book) and slide it along a surface where there is friction, why does it stop translating and rotating at the same time?

That's all there is to it. You can quickly verify that it is true. But why?

I'm sorry if you lose some sleep!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 22, 2014 #2
    Won't that be because the force of friction works in the opposite direction of the total movement, not seperately for the translational and rotational?

What I mean is, if you take one point on the corner of the spinning book, it has a movement due to the rotation around the center of mass, and one due to the translation of the COM. The total movement for that point is the sum of those, and this is the movement of which friction would be directly opposite.