Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hardest Math?

1. May 30, 2013 #1
    In my introducation post, I stated that im new to all this. My highest math education is elementary Algebra, but im here to learn myself some new things. With that being said, what is the hardest type of math out there? I know its somewhat relative, based upon personal understanding... so personal opinion is welcome. Are there any math equations out there that havent been solved?

2. jcsd
  3. May 30, 2013 #2

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Very much so.

"In my day, as I remember it, we used to think spherical trigonometry about the hardest stuff of the lot." Stephen Leacock

4. May 30, 2013 #3

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Difficulty isn't the problem. It was the boring stuff I found impenetrable -- no surprise. For me that would be series. Absolute convergence, uniform convergence, that sort of thing. I just couldn't stay focused.

5. May 31, 2013 #4

Dembadon

Gold Member

The biggest factor for me so far has been the professor. Certain subjects can be made quite manageable, or excruciatingly difficult depending on the expectations and teaching style of one's professor/instructor.

I had difficulty in Abstract Algebra, which is the study of the characteristics and properties of the algebraic structures named: groups, rings, and fields. Formulating a rigorous argument for something about which one has little-to-no intuition is not something many people are used to doing. It was a humbling experience for me, to say the least.

Last edited: May 31, 2013
  6. May 31, 2013 #5

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor

All math is hard for me :p

7. May 31, 2013 #6