Hardware Required

• Thread starter salman213
  • Start date
I am interested on working on a small home project. I want to build a device that will connect to a TV (through s-video or any video output).

I was just thinking about it and was wondering what hardware would be required to do this?

I am just a beginner but I want to learn more.

Answers and Replies

Averagesupernova
Science Advisor
Gold Member
You haven't told us what the intended result is. If you want me to give you a technical (and smart-alecky) answer based on the information you have put forth then I will tell you to go buy an S-video connector, solder a wire onto it and plug it in to your TV. You have just built a device that plugs into your TV. It does nothing, but was that a requirement?

Sorry for the vague post, but I am having trouble asking my question. Not sure how to ask it due to my lack of knowledge.

Okay, so, If I open a dvd player or receiver or any box, I am guessing there is a video card which connects to the tv (the video card has the outputs like s-video etc.). Where does the input signal to the video card come from?

For example, to begin if I make an image on paint, what hardware would I need to make a device to output that image on a tv set.

vk6kro
Science Advisor
If your computer's video card has an S-Video output, you can make a S-Video to Composite Video adapter as shown in this article:

http://www.tkk.fi/Misc/Electronics/circuits/svideo2cvideo.html [Broken]

The composite input on your TV (if it has one) would normally be a yellow RCA socket.

If your TV doesn't have one of these, but you have a video tape recorder connected to it, this will certainly have a composite video input and you could use that to view, or even record, your computer output.

The resolution of an analog TV set is usually a lot lower than that of a computer monitor, so you might find it worth while to use reduced resolution on the computer and avoid fine detail in your drawings.