Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Has smoking harmed you

1. Nov 3, 2011 #1

wolram

Gold Member

Or people around you, i have been smoking cigarettes for over 40 yrs without any sign of harm.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 3, 2011 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Yes.

I don't believe you.

Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  4. Nov 3, 2011 #3

FlexGunship

Gold Member

I don't smoke and I don't care for people smoking around me. That being said, I don't fake-cough with smokers around, and frankly, I would be FINE if they reintroduced smoking in restaurants and bars in NH.

I doubt, seriously, that you've smoked for 40 years without side effects. You're a walking creosote-packed chimney.

5. Nov 3, 2011 #4
    I am all for personal freedoms, but when it comes to smoking, I love the no smoking laws in most major cities now. No longer do I smell awful when I go out for a drink.

6. Nov 3, 2011 #5

FlexGunship

Gold Member

One of the stages that never developed was the choice for establishment owners to make a building smoke-free. That would've been the ultimate market-driven solution. Instead it went from illegal to discriminate against smokers in bars to illegal to smoke in bars.

A simple: "you get to decide if there's smoking allowed in your bar" would've solved the issue. I bet, over time, the amount of smoke-friendly establishment would slowly be driven down by people who would prefer to spend their money at the smoke-free establishment. And no one would've complained about impingement on personal freedoms.

7. Nov 3, 2011 #6

Ryan_m_b

I have a dead granddad who smoked for decades then died of emphysema. I'm curious as to the purpose of this thread, is it to challenge the notion that smoking is harmful?

8. Nov 3, 2011 #7

FlexGunship

Gold Member