Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Have to do tetris in C++

1. Sep 18, 2007 #1
    I'm taking an undergrad CS course, and we've been split up into teams and have been assigned a tetris game in C++. The limitations are very loose, and we can basically do it however we want. I've had 2 C++ classes and a class in Java, so I'm not that new to programming, but I am new to something this complicated and in-depth. Most of the programs I've written have been console-based applications that are single-purpose and not very complicated. I know I won't have that much trouble writing the classes once I have a good idea of where to start and a decent algorithm, but as of now, I really have no idea where to start, so any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2007 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

MVC (Model-Controller-View) You need three parts:

Model = stores the data describing the state of the program, which blocks are present, where are they?

Controller = works out how each block will move on the next go, which are already at the bottom, which are falling, where the sideways moving thing is.

View = takes the model and displays it on the screen. Don't worry about this too much - in fact for testing it might be easiest if it just wrote out lines of text with * representing the blocks.
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2007
  4. Sep 18, 2007 #3