Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Have you ever craved math?

1. Dec 6, 2015 #1
    In college, I majored in Neuroscience but after about two year,
    I really started to resent biologists' obsession with memorization.
    Moreover, I really started to miss doing math., as I had in high school.

So, I double majored in Applied Math., which was a huge amount of work...so much so, that drive
    almost seems irrational to me now. Yet, I just missed the topic and felt a longing to do it.

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 6, 2015 #2
    Absolutely. I developed an obsession for it when I first started studying to go to uni, everything from number crunching to the history of math.

4. Dec 7, 2015 #3

collinsmark

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Math is awesome.

Sometimes during morning coffee or later if I happen to be at the pub I'll break out a paper napkin and do math to pass the time.

Most recently I re-derived Euler's product formula for the Riemann zeta function over a couple pints of Guinness.

[tex] \sum_{n=1}^\infty \frac{1}{n^s} = \prod_{p \ \mathrm{prime}} \frac{1}{1 - p^{-s}} [/tex]

(Although it wasn't a thoroughly rigourus proof. I figure drunken math doesn't necessitate excessive rigour.)

[Edit: If only Guinness helped with finding the real part of those roots (complex values of s that cause the function to equal zero). But alas, no.]

Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
  5. Dec 7, 2015 #4
    Definitely, I hear you!! I also don't like all the memorization involved in biology, and am thinking about changing my major, though I don't know if it's feasible at this point.

6. Dec 7, 2015 #5
    I will use the new whiteboard feature to express my love of math during the semester.