Solving Math Headaches as a Computer Engr Student

• Thread starter Llama77
  • Start date
In summary: I think its pretty outrageous that you would say that smoking helps you focus and study. I have never heard that before and it seems quite harmful.
Llama77
I am a sophomore computer engineering student and am taking

calc 2
circuits,
Linear Algebra
Physics 2

Suddenly this semester, whenever I do math, I get a headache, and only during math, or doing math for physics, any ideas?

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you seriously asking for medical advice here?

Assuming not, it just sounds like you're stressed, plus maybe a tad of overload or burnout for flavor. This is normal during your sophomore year in math/science/technical fields.

This might not be it, but do you wear glasses? Possibly with math if you are really staring at the numbers or equations, etc, possibly its eye strain?

Honestly all those courses require math, so really it seems you just get headaches when you do work.

Could be eye strain.

First thing I would do in general is look at how much sleep you're getting. Too much is just as bad as not enough. The important thing is consistency. Most people suggest 8 hours as ideal, some can go with less.

Also, water. Most people do not drink nearly enough and dehydration causes headaches as well.

Also, did you just ask for medical advice on physicsforums.com? xD

Do you notice any kind of sharp increase in the amount of work you get this semester compared with before? Have your classes always been math heavy or did you only start getting so much math in all of your classes this year?

Maybe you should track down one of your uni's health profs and ask for some advice.