Heat Powered Fan: Get Expert Advice Here

• Thread starter dawnbledsoe
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Heat
In summary: I like Russ' idea. You could build a small steam engine on or beside the stove, with a coil of tubing or a tank inside the stove as a boiler. (With the bonus that the exhaust would be a small-scale humidifier. :biggrin:) It might be too noisy, though.My own first thought was to put a turbine (just a simple pinwheel type) in the chimney with a driveshaft going to the fan, but I can't see that producing a lot of breeze.
dawnbledsoe
Hello I'm new to the PF? My main reason for posting was to understand how I may begin to create a heat powered fan for my wood stove? Would someone be willing to help please?

Engineering news on Phys.org
What and why do you want to vent exactly? Is it to be heated by the stove itself? Just want to make sure I get this.

If you intend to copy an Ecofan, don't bother. We have one that was given to us, and it is pretty useless for moving air. It's main value is as a visible indicator that the stove's surface temperature is falling. Other than that, it's a conversation piece at best.

Are the "heat driven fans" in question driven by stirling engines?

turbo-1 said:
If you intend to copy an Ecofan, don't bother. We have one that was given to us, and it is pretty useless for moving air. It's main value is as a visible indicator that the stove's surface temperature is falling. Other than that, it's a conversation piece at best.

I just checked these out, and they can apparently provide around 100 CFM. If so, then having a half-dozen of these on the stove should be more than enough to make a noticeable difference.

Dr Lots-o'watts said:
I just checked these out, and they can apparently provide around 100 CFM. If so, then having a half-dozen of these on the stove should be more than enough to make a noticeable difference.
Buy one and test the 100 cfm claim. You won't buy more.

turbo-1 said: