Thanks in advance.Heat Transfer Modeling: Get Insight for Physical Intuition

In summary: It is a numerical method that allows the analysis of complex electric circuits by breaking them down into a series of simple, manageable pieces.The first method is more suited to what the OP is asking, and the second is more suited for the electrical engineer. In summary, the OP is trying to find out how long it takes for a strip of aluminum to reach a certain temperature. He is also trying to understand how current and potential interact.
JordanD
Hello everyone,

I was hoping to get some insight on a model I am trying to create. Quick background in case it is important, I am now working at a new internship I landed for the summer doing some modeling and what not on areas of physics I have never worked on before. It has also been a few years since I have had a proper thermodynamics course so I am rusty.

I can't get into great detail, NDAs and what not, but I was hoping to glean some insight so I can begin to understand what is happening.

Here is my problem. There is a strip of Al (10" x 2.25" x 15um sorry for not converting units) being joule heated, i.e. one end at some positive potential and the other ground. I moreorless understand that part. Provided enough time the strip will be at a constant temp, but how do I gain some kind of timing info from this notion. I mean when I flip the switch it isn't instantly X degrees, its a heating rate, right?

Now to take this notion further imagine I now apply some kind of room temp air stream from say a hose (circular in case it matters) to the center of the strip. With this convective air flow cooling the strip how does that propagate through the rest of the strip? So now there is some kind of cooling rate that is being applied to the strip, so what implications does that bare?

I could just go ahead an pop this into comsol like I plan on doing, but I would really like to gain some sort of physical intuition first.