Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hello, bone queston

1. Dec 30, 2004 #1
    I am a colege student, we are going to have a test after holidays, i am worried because I still don't know a lot of things. Could you tell me how bone is created in human ?
    I know there are tow stages bone is formed: membrane, and endochondrea.
    I am still stuck at how to say these two stages in a more particualar way. I haven't found any source s so far on teh internet.
    Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 30, 2004 #2
    bone formation

A quick search on Google for "bone formation" would have given you most of what you are looking for. The gist of it is that bone formation (or osteogenesis) occurs in two main processes:

Intramembranous Ossification involves the transformation of mesenchymal connective tissue into bone; no cartilage model is required. This process occurs in the development of flat bones and other irregular bones. Basically, osteoblasts migrate to the connective tissue and surround themselves with bone matrix that they secrete.