Exploring the Exciting World of Physics: A Journey of Learning and Discovery

• Thread starter DaveP
  • Start date
In summary, exploring the exciting world of physics allows individuals to embark on a journey of learning and discovery. This field of science delves into the fundamental laws and principles that govern the behavior of matter and energy in the universe. From the study of atoms and particles to understanding the forces that shape our world, physics offers endless opportunities for exploration and innovation. Through hands-on experiments, mathematical equations, and theoretical concepts, individuals can deepen their understanding of the natural world and make groundbreaking discoveries that impact our daily lives.
DaveP
Hi all,

My name is David. I've often found useful insight and answers to problems in this forum so decided to join!
I studied electronics engineering so have a rudimentary understanding of EM, Fourier analysis and semiconductor physics, although I mostly work in embedded software development nowadays.
My objective is to keep learning and maybe find more like minded people, since everyone I tell 'my hobby is physics' look at me in a strange way.

I have some 10 months of reading, thinking and problem solving using mostly K&K and Taylor and I'm just about to dive into the exciting stuff at the end ;-).

Still some doubts along the way specially in rigid body motion and non-inertial frames (aaaand I literally just skimmed through Lagrangian and Hamiltonian mechanics) but hopefully those will clear up with more experience.

The ultimate goal is a firm grasp of both GR and QM, but lately I've come to enjoy the ride so in no rush to get there. I'm keen to explore the forum in more detail and perhaps meet some of the folk!

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes berkeman and Wrichik Basu
Physics news on Phys.org