1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help,about subcover!

1. Jan 28, 2009 #1
    I am studying Heine-Borel theorem.
    I finally get the sense of this theorem after i read a lots posts here.
    But I found a question posted by Rach3
    why for S={1,1/2,1/3……} there is no subcollection of it is a cover of S
    but every open cover of T={0,1,1/2,1/3……} has a finite subcover?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 28, 2009 #2
    I know that I can find a cover e.g Ia=(1/n,1+1/n),union of Ia from n=1 to inifinte is a cover for S but not finite

4. Jan 28, 2009 #3
    but how to prove that every open cover of T has a finite subcover

5. Jan 28, 2009 #4

quasar987

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

There is no universally recognized statement of the Heine-Borel theorem so you'd better tell people what you call the "Heine-Borel" theorem when you speak about it.

I will assume that you take it to mean "A subset of R is compact if and only if it is closed and bounded."

So the answer to your question is that every open cover of T admits a finite subcover because it is compact. And why is it compact? Because it is closed and bounded. On the other hand, the set S above is not compact because it is not closed.

6. Jan 28, 2009 #5
    I need to prove every every open cover of T has a finite subcover.
    My version of Heine-Borel theorem is every open cover of a closed interval has a finite subcover.
    It is easy to prove if it is a closed interval. I mean like [a,b]
    not a interval like T.

7. Jan 28, 2009 #6

quasar987

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Don't forget the word "bounded": your version of the Heine-Borel theorem is that every open cover of a closed and bounded interval has a finite subcover.