Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

[help]bending of beam

1. Sep 29, 2006 #1
    [help]bending of beam(urgent)

can anyone pls tell me how do i explain that why I beam is used for civil engineering?
    --> how do i explain that a beam with rectangular cross section is easier to bend when weight is added on it when it is placed horizontally(bigger area facing up) than when it is placed vertically.

thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2006 #2

Danger

Gold Member

I'm no expert on this, so don't take this as your final answer. Basically, it comes down to the resistance of the sides to both compressive and stretching forces. For a beam to bend, the 'outer' section has to stretch to create the new radius, while the 'inner' one gets squished. An I-beam is ideally suited for that purpose.

4. Sep 29, 2006 #3

brewnog

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This is homework, so it's in the wrong place.

Firstly, why do you think an I beam is the shape it is?

5. Sep 29, 2006 #4
    erm...
    i thk i has the shape like that because the middle part (vertical beam between I) prevent the top and the bottom part from bending in order to strengthen the beam. is that correct?
    but i need a more formal explanation which i cant figure out.
    i am new to this forum, sorry that having this post on wrong board.
    (this is the title of my project)

6. Sep 29, 2006 #5

radou

Homework Helper