1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help Force/Tension Problem

1. Sep 19, 2007 #1
    Help!!! Force/Tension Problem

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A 2.4 kg ball tied to a string fixed to the ceiling is pulled to one side by a force F to an angle of 32.1° from the ceiling.

(a) Just before the ball is released and allowed to swing back and forth, how large is the force F that is holding the ball in position?

(b) Just before the ball is released and allowed to swing back and forth, what is the tension in the string?

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Hi all, I am new to physics, and this homework is kicking my butt! haha, so first I tried to convert the 2.4kg to Newtons (9.8N/kg), and then use sin and cos to find the force in the x and y directions. I get 19.9 in the x direction, and 12.5 in the y direction. Our homework is submitted electronically, though, and it doesn't think my answer for a) is right.... I really don't know how to do b) :cry:

If someone could help me that would very much appreciated, this is due at 7 in the morning!

Thanks,
    Damian

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2007 #2

learningphysics

Homework Helper

Did you draw a freebody diagram? What are the forces acting on the ball? What are the forces acting in the y-direction? In the x-direction?

4. Sep 19, 2007 #3
    I drew a diagram, and I thought I found the forces in the x and y directions (by using sin and cos), but I can't seem to think of anything else. My professor very quickly went over this, and I am really stuck (i have work on it for about a half hour....). Any other suggestions to point me in the right direction?

Thanks

5. Sep 19, 2007 #4

learningphysics

Homework Helper