Help with PIC16F84A for Beginners - Multiply, Divide, SQRT

• Thread starter Em Jay
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses using assembler to copy input from PORTB to GPR registers, looping the process 68 times. It also mentions that there are no microcontrollers with built-in higher math functions, and suggests devising a scheme or finding libraries to perform these operations. The conversation ends with a good luck message.
Em Jay
hello

i am a beginner in pic16f84a
and i found it very exciting but there is a problem i need u to help me with

suppose that portb is input

how can i copy the input to all GPR register

and one more question
what is the best type of Microcontroler that got more instructio than pic1684a

i mean sqrt and dived and multiply

and thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you're using assembler, you can copy from one memory location (e.g. PORTB) to another (e.g. 0x0C, the first GPR location) using the MOVF command. To move it into ALL the GPRs, you'd just have to loop that 68 times (assuming you'd want to do so).
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/devicedoc/35007b.pdf

To my knowledge, there are no (simple and without math coprocessor) microcontrollers that have the higher math functions you're looking for. Some of the PIC18s have the ability to do multiplication, but there were some restrictions on use--consult a datasheet. Unfortunately, you'll have to devise your own scheme (or find libraries where people have made them) to do these sorts of operations. As a hint, it's easy to divide and multiply by powers of 2 merely by bit shifting left or right. You can also do it the hard way by adding things together (e.g. 20 x 5 = 20 + 20 + 20 +20 + 20) or subtracting (e.g. 101 / 20 = 101 - 20 - 20 - 20 - 20 - 20, with 1 left over).

Good luck!

What is the PIC16F84A and why is it important for beginners?