1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

HELP: Interdisciplinary programmes in GRAD SCHOOL

1. May 3, 2005 #1
    Hi
    I graduated 2 years ago with a BSc in Neural Computation /w minor Astrophysics. The past 2 years i've tried to learn game programming but I realized my passion is simulating the sciences in 3D environments(particularly Astrophysics and ALife/Cogsci).

I was a B+ student with avg breakdown of MATH A, PHYS A-, COMPSCI B+
    PSYCH & LIFESCI C+....As you can see my psych marks are pretty bad but my other marks are relatively comfortable.

My problem is that applying to grad school I don't fit under the courses bracket for any of the depts: Math, Compsci, Phys, Psych.

My QUESTION is...How do I approach the departments with the problem above wanting to do an Interdisplinary programme in either math/cs/physics or math/cs/psych. Most of these depts require taking alot of grad courses in single dept.

But what I want to take are courses from each dept like

Bifurcation & Stability Theory
    Dynamical Systems(some differ from the above)
    Math. Neurosci.
    Numerical Methods (I-II if they have both)
    Number THeory
    Chaos Theory
    Graphics
    Animations
    Computer Vision
    Computer Audition
    Computer Linguistics

4 courses in Astrophysics(Stellar formation, cosmology ...)
    Classical Mechanics
    OR
    Vision/Audition/Child Development

Best
    Jack

2. jcsd
  3. May 4, 2005 #2

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member