Help - Lisp program to calculate the sum of first N positive integers

In summary: Good luck! In summary, the task is to write a Lisp program to calculate the sum of the first N positive integers. The suggested approach is to define a function called "nsum" and use a "for" loop to iterate through the numbers from 1 to N and add them together. Other possible approaches include using recursion or a mathematical formula.
fernanroy

Homework Statement

Write a Lisp program to calculate the sum of the first N positive integers where, for example, when N = 6 the sum of the first N = 21.

Homework Equations

If you try this out in tlisp at http://www.ugcs.caltech.edu/~rona/tlisp/ please note that the syntax for N - 1 is (+ N -1).

Or if you try it out in the console of Allegro Common Lisp from http://www.franz.com the syntax is (- N 1).

If you define your function as, for example, nsum, then the syntax for calling it with N = 6 is (nsum 6)

The Attempt at a Solution

Ok, I am no programmer so I don't even know where to start. This is not a programming class so I am not sure where to start.

Any help or direction would be appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org

my first step would be to break down the problem into smaller, more manageable parts. In this case, we need to calculate the sum of the first N positive integers, so we can start by defining a function that takes in a value of N and returns the sum. Let's call this function "nsum."

Next, we need to think about how to actually calculate the sum. One approach would be to use a loop to add each integer from 1 to N together. Another approach would be to use a mathematical formula for calculating the sum of consecutive numbers, which is (N * (N + 1)) / 2.

Let's try the first approach. We can use a "for" loop in Lisp to iterate through the numbers from 1 to N and add them together. The syntax for a "for" loop in Lisp is (for <variable> from <start> to <end> do <body>). So our function might look something like this: