Help me please!

• Thread starter satisji
  • Start date
To everyone who is noticing it, its my sincere request to help me in providing some ideas about what I can do. I am actually a first year student of B.E. in Mechanical Engg. There always has been a big interest of mine in Physics; whatever comes up, it just fascinates me, if its Physics.
Now I want to do something significant, something thats bold and big. But I cant jump into anything, i need a point from where I could start. I am desperate to get a workable project/research idea. So if you're reading this, then please give me some. Anything would do.
Please.

Satishchandra Salam

Last edited by a moderator:

Answers and Replies

Have you contacted professors about getting involved in their research? That is the best place to start.

Now I want to do something significant, something thats bold and big.

I don't know exactly what you mean by this but if you mean you want to do something that is going to change the world in some major significant way you are probably going to be severely disappointed. Very few people ever get to work on research that is going to revolutionize the way people think/do things. I am not saying you will never get a chance but its extremely rare, especially since you are only a first year undergrad. A lot of research is working on problems most people outside of your area don't even know exist. That doesn't mean its not important it is just the way things are.

Okay, whatever may be, thanks a lot for the suggestions. Its just that I'm desperate about it. Anyway, thank you.

What are you desperate about? You are a freshman in college. You have plenty of time to get involved in research. Talk to your professors.

Just that I wanted to have a start. The college syllabus is very much boring with their straight lines upon what we should do, or what we shouldn't do. If I have a starting point, then I will be somewhat at ease.