1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help! Mechanics Qs!

1. Dec 4, 2005 #1
    Hey everyone,

I'm currently studying maths at Uni and this year I have to do a compulsary mechanics module. For the record, I've not done physics for a long time and I'm having a lot of trouble with some questions! Here they are as printed on the sheet:

"The force acting on a particle of mass m moving under the influence of a constant magnetic field B is equal to v x B where v is the velocity of the particle relative to the origin 0 of an inertial frame. Suppose that at time t = 0, r=0 and v = V.

Show that mv = r x B + mV"

it gets better

"Let i, j and k be unit vectors in the direction of the axes of the inertial frame. In this case B = Bk and V = v1i + v2k, show that the path of the particle is given by

r = (mv1)/B sin (Bt/m)i + (mv1)/B(cos(Bt/m) - 1)j + v2tk

Describe carefully the path of the particle.

[if x(.) = cy + d and y(.)= -cx (c and d constants) then x(..) = -c^2x]"

( x(.) denotes first derivative.)

My lecturer is hopeless and I'm currently failing this course. I would be really grateful for any replies!

Thanks

Dave

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 4, 2005 #2

Galileo

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Actually, the magnetic force (or Lorentz-force) on a particle with charge q is [itex]q(\vec v \times \vec B)[/itex]. I don't know why that wasn't specified in the question, but let's consider q=1 for this particular case.

Since you are given the mass and the magnetic field everywhere (B is constant) you know the force acting on the particle everywhere. With the specified initial conditions the motion of the particle is completely determined by Newton's 2nd law:

[tex]\vec F = \frac{d}{dt}(m\vec v)=\vec v\times \vec B[/tex]