Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help: modular arithmetic

1. Sep 28, 2006 #1
    hi,

i have started "self-studying" number theory. and since i am quite new to number theory and modular arithmetic, i need some help.
    how can i prove that if a2 ≡ 0 (mod n), then a ≡ 0 (mod n).

thanks in advance to anybody who can help.

Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 28, 2006 #2

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You can't, because it is false. Find a simple counter example.

4. Sep 28, 2006 #3
    well, i was trying to prove that [tex]\sqrt n[/tex] is irrational if n is not a perfect square. i assumed that it is rational and
    [tex]\sqrt n[/tex] = [tex]{a}\over{b}[/tex] where gcd(a,b) = 1.
    then [tex]a^2 = nb^2[/tex]

now n divides a2. if only i could prove that n divides a, then i could put a = nk and get
    [tex]n^2k^2 = nb^2[/tex]

[tex]nk^2 = b^2[/tex]

and now n divides b2. now if n divides b then n divides both a and b. thus gcd(a,b) is not 1 as it was assumed.

but how can i prove it? since n divides a2 doesnt imply n divides a.

Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
  5. Sep 28, 2006 #4

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Just think about the prime decompostion of n. It suffices to assume that n is square free (i.e. no prime divides n more than once).

6. Sep 28, 2006 #5
    so if a prime divides n once and n divides a2, then that prime divides a2 twice. hence that prime divides a once. is that it?

7. Sep 28, 2006 #6

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

No. That is not it. It is true that if p divides a^2 that p^2 divides a^2, but it if you assume that you are assuming the result. You want to prove that fact.

8. Sep 28, 2006 #7
    could you please elaborate?

9. Sep 28, 2006 #8

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper