Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help needed with an interesting mechanism!

1. Oct 24, 2008 #1
    Hi guys,
    I've been dropped in at the deep end at work, tasked with designing a latching mechanism for an armrest on a luxury aircraft seat - It has to work on a remote latch principle, ie by pushing a sprung-loaded button downwards to actuate a link arm via a pivot, which then retracts the remote (actron) latch from its striker, enabling the armrest to be opened/rotated on its hinge.

I have some pretty good sketches of the parts of the mechanism as I see it, however I need someone to have a look over it & give me their guidance on how I should proceed. I'm not a mechanism designer - I normally don't get concept design work, but I want to rise to the challenge & produce something which works well.

I can send loads of scanned sketches via email if anyone feels they would like to help me out here - I would appreciate some guidance. Thanks in advance. James

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 24, 2008 #2

Danger

Gold Member

Welcome to PF, James.
    I doubt that anyone is willing to give out their e-mail address, but you can post the pictures here by using Image Shack or a similar service. It would definitely help people to think up solutions.

4. Oct 24, 2008 #3
    Hi,

OK thanks for the good advice, I will get my sketches scanned & put them online.

Cheers,

James

5. Oct 24, 2008 #4

Mapes

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I think you should check with your boss before publishing your company's designs. I doubt the principals would appreciate the implicit statement that their design reviews are conducted by soliciting comments on an Internet forum.

6. Oct 25, 2008 #5

Danger

Gold Member

That's a good point, Mapes. I never think of things like that when answering.