Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help Newbie

1. Mar 13, 2006 #1
    :confused: Hello, i am new to quantum physics, i guess if someone could give me some advice about it, like websites, books or other types of information about quantum physics, as well as the basic physics and maths required to understand it...
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 13, 2006 #2
    In Search of Schrodinger's Cat by John Gribbin
    This one is not mainly on quantum theory but nevertheless, its awesome, The Emperor's New Mind by Roger Penrose

For the internet Wikipedia does the trick
  4. Mar 13, 2006 #3

Staff: Mentor

Before you start to learn quantum physics seriously, you need to know some classical physics, of course! :smile: At least you should know something about energy (both kinetic and potential), momentum, and waves.

To get started with Schrödinger's Equation and its simplest applications (one-dimensional situations), you need to know some differential and integral calculus, the basic concepts of differential equations, and some things about complex numbers. For further applications (three-dimensional situations including the hydrogen atom), you need to know multivariable calculus (partial derivatives, etc.).
  5. Mar 13, 2006 #4
    Nothing quite like a firm grounding in a physicist's Linear Algebra (linear spaces, linear operators etc) nor Fourier Analysis either.
  6. Mar 13, 2006 #5

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Has anyone got any opinions of the big paperback What is the Quantum by the International University of Lex? I have looked at it several times in bookstores, and thought that although it was not for me, it might be a good introduction to the "real thing" for a math adept beginner.

But I'm not the one to tell it. I would really like to hear from a trained physicist whether it would help or hinder a seeker.