1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help on friction and motion

1. Oct 2, 2004 #1
    Hi everybody. :smile:

I'm not good at physics/math but I really want to (someday...) and this problem for a lab next week has been bugging me for the last... 5 minutes. It says:

For a block moving at constant speed, if the applied force just balances the frictional force, why does the block move?

I have no idea... And yes I'm stupid if that's what you're thinking. >_<

If it moves at constant speed then there's no acceleration.. and I'm thinking total forces balance out to 0... so why does it move? :cry:
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 2, 2004 #2
    [itex]\sum \vec F=m\vec a[/itex]

In this case: [itex]\sum \vec F=m\vec a=0[/itex]

The particle has mass, so the acceleration is zero. You're given an initial condition where the block is in motion. No acceleration--no speeding up or slowing down.
  4. Oct 2, 2004 #3
    sum of all external forces = mass x acceleration,
    so if sum of external forces = 0, then acceleration must be 0
    acceleration = 0 doesn't mean it will stop..
    but acceleration < 0 (i.e. decceleration) will slow it down until it stops
    in Newton's first law:
    An object at rest tends to stay at rest and an object in motion tends to stay in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force.
    in this case, there's no unbalanced force.. therefore your block will move with constant speed
    actually if there's no applied force that is balancing the frictional force, the acceleration become decceleration (a < 0) and then your block will stop moving..
  5. Oct 2, 2004 #4

Homework Helper

Newton's 1st Law

[tex] \sum_{i=1}^{n} \vec{F}_{i} = 0 \rightarrow \vec{V} = constant [/tex]
  6. Oct 2, 2004 #5