Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help Plz!

1. Jan 2, 2008 #1
    well, dear all first i want to introduce myself, i am a mechanical engineer working professionally as a piping stress analyst in a multi-national firm, well cosmology and the things abt the origin of time and space etc seems to be very nice things to study and i am new to them, can u plz tell me what's the difference between astronomy, cosmology, physical cosmology, astro-physics ??????????

plz help me i may want to decide to go for Master degree in studying abt this beautiful subject abt the time and space and the origin of the universe................plz, also tell me if there is some online degree arrangement for it as well.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 2, 2008 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This is my take on it.

Astronomy is the study of the night sky. Including the ability to identify stars and constellations as well as deep sky objects only observable with a telescope. It would include the study of the motion of the planets of the solar system.

Cosmology is the study of the massive structures of the universe and how they came to be.

Astro physics is the the study of what makes a star tick.

I have no knowledge of physical cosmology.
  4. Jan 2, 2008 #3
    Dear Sir, thanks, but u only gave the half part's answer.
  5. Jan 20, 2008 #4

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Like Integral, I am not familiar with the term 'physical cosmology'.