Exploring the Mysteries of Outer Space

• Thread starter dark mark
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Space
In summary: As for beginner resources, I would recommend "Astrophysics for People in a Hurry" by Neil deGrasse Tyson and "A Brief History of Time" by Stephen Hawking. Both are great introductions to the subject.
dark mark
Hi all I am a bit of a newb.
could someone answer my simpleton questions for me.

when in space under zero gravity, is it possible that with we are all falling together so what we call zero gravity could be a big free fall, I know we are not falling in relation to the cosmic microwave background but could that also be falling with us through another dimension can that be ruled out.

what percentage of the gravity that causes a black hole acts on our universe.past the event horizon?

with all the matter that gets sucked into a black hole at the speed of light does this cause a magnetic field and does and how big is this. i imagine it to be powerful could this act as a replusion force to slow down the pull of the black hole?

Does the massive amount of energy caused by all the super novas that go off in the galaxy have a part to play in the expansion of the galaxy?

Do planets magnetospheres stop them from gravatationally attracting?

does the universe have a magnetosphere?

sorry for all the questions I have started reading into the subject recently but the more i read the more questions i have!

oh and What is causing that hexagonal polar region on saturn and ideas?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
1) In fact, Einstein showed (using his space-elevator thought experiments) that the effects of free fall is equivalent to zero g, and that standing here on Earth is equivalent to being accelerated at 9.8m/s^2 up! (Locally). This is why stuff like the vomit comet work. The airplanes allow you to feel zero g, by essentially free falling for a while (they actually take parabolic paths).