1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help understanding amplifier

1. Jun 3, 2013 #1
    Hey guys so I'm going to use this template because it said so in the stickies but my question isn't a word problem kind of thing. I am building an amplifier using this tutorial and am having problems. I have attached my schematic for it, however I'm fairly new to circuits and this project has got me stumped.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    My amplifier doesn't work. The schematic with all the values are attached(it was the easiest way to show what I did). Attachment of the amp to the speaker could be the problem. When I hook the amp, I only get a faint static.

2. Relevant equations
    V=IR

3. The attempt at a solution
    I made an audio jack cable go from aux to two wires. One of the wires being positive and the other negative. So when I put these wires into a speaker, the speaker works with my iPod playing. However when I make the wires go through the amp, it doesn't work. I wired the + wire from the audio cable to the amp's input, the amp's output to the + side of the speaker, and the - wire to the - side of the speaker, but nothing.... I apologize if I'm doing something completely ridiculous... this is my first homemade circuit!! XD All constructive criticism is appreciated!!!
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 4, 2013 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.