Understanding Mathematics of Quantum Physics

In summary, the mathematics applied in quantum physics allow for the calculation of the probability of a particle being located at a certain point in space and time. The two wave functions that are used for this calculation are a real wave function representing a forward-in-time wave and an imaginary wave function representing a backward-in-time wave. The referent of the backward-in-time wave function is the particular point in space and time where the particle potentially may be found, and that many such points mean that there are many referents for the imaginary wave function. The referent of the forward-in-time wave function is held constant for every possible point in space and time where that particle may be found.
mpsychdoctor
Hello all. I'm new to the forum, and I'm not a physicist. I'm a psychologist. I need some help understanding the meaning of the mathematics applied in quantum physics, when calculating the probability for a particle being located at a certain point in space and time. I understand that there are two wave functions calculated to indentify the potential: a real wave function representing a forward-in-time wave and an imaginary wave function representing a backward-in-time wave. Is that right? I understand that the referent of the backward-in-time wave is the particular point in space and time where the particle potentially may be found, and that many such points mean that there are many referents for the imaginary wave function. Is that right? What I don't understand is the referent of the forward-in-time wave function. Is the referent of the real wave function held constant for every possible point in space and time where that particle may be found? Please help. Or, direct me to where I can get help. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you have picked up some misinformation somewhere.