Need help setting up arrays for Galton box simulation?

• Java
  • Thread starter irresistible
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Arrays Java
In summary, the conversation is about creating a program to simulate the bean machine or Galton box, where balls are dropped from the top and have equal chances of falling to the left or right at each row. The goal is to set up the algorithm and arrays needed to track the ball's movement and accumulation in the slots at the bottom of the board. One suggested method is to use a Pascal's triangle format to store the data, with each slot having equal chances of falling into the two slots below it. The number of slots required can be calculated using the formula n(n+1)/2, where n is the number of rows.
irresistible
I'm new in java and
I'm trying to come up with a program that stimulates the bean machine(also known as Galton box)
Balls are dropped from the opening of the board. Everytime a ball hits, there is a 50% chance to fall to left and 50% chance to fall to the right. the piles of balls are accumulated in the slots at the bottom of the board.

I'm just trying to set up my algorithm, but I don't know how to set up my arrays. i.e, the entreis in the arrays, the Givens, results, etc.

This is a Galton box and how it works in case you don't know:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/78/Galton_Box.svg/507px-Galton_Box.svg.png

I just don't know where to start.. how to set up my arrays.
Any help is appreciated.:smile:

Technology news on Phys.org
You can store the data in the form of a Pascal's triangle.
The top slot will be numbered 1.
The second row will have slots 2 and 3, third row 4,5,6, and so on.

Code:
      2 3
     4 5 6
    7 8 9 10
This way, the marble/ball falls in slot one will have equal chances of falling into slots 2 or 3.
From 2 (row 2) there will be equal chances of falling into 4 or 5, and from 5 (row 3) it will have equal chances for falling into slots 8 or 9, and so on.