Can I handle this applied math course schedule for next semester?

In summary, the speaker is majoring in Applied Mathematics and is planning their schedule for next semester. They plan to take Multivariable Calculus, Differential Equations, Linear Algebra, and Transition to Advanced Math. They are concerned about the difficulty of this schedule and do not have a mathematics advisor to consult. The speaker advises self-studying proof techniques before taking these courses and believes that the schedule should be manageable. They also mention possibly taking computer science courses instead if necessary.
nick7s
I'm majoring in Applied Mathematics and I am currently planning my schedule for next semester. These are the classes I plan to take. I would like to know if I will be able to handle this schedule, or if it will be too difficult. I will be a junior taking these courses. I don't have a mathematics advisor to talk to, only my general school advisor who suggested this schedule. Thank you.

- Multivariable Calculus
- Differential Equations
- Linear Algebra
- Transition to Advance Math (Concepts and techniques of proofs)

Physics news on Phys.org
I would personally be able to handle this schedule. So I infer that you would be able to handle it too.

Did you have any major problems with single-variable calculus?

Well, it is quite bit of math for a single semester, but I don't recall any of those courses being extremely difficult. I would advise you to self-study proof techniques during the summer though. For two reasons:

1)My linear algebra class was particularly heavy on them, and if you're not used to them then it's a needless obstacle to overcome.
2)It'll make your transition class a bit easier.

micromass said:
I would personally be able to handle this schedule. So I infer that you would be able to handle it too.

Did you have any major problems with single-variable calculus?