Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with deflection/safe load

1. Oct 14, 2014 #1
    Hey everyone,

I am not a structural engineer; so I thought maybe I could get some help understanding the concepts of a project I am trying to complete. I am trying to get a rough estimate of a safe load capacity for a "lifting bar" .

The material itself is 1" diameter x 36" long 1045 steel bar. A lifting D- Ring will be centered on this bar as a lifting point.

Every equation that I have looked into shows deflection of beams supported at two ends with the load in the center...... What is the appropriate way to determine how much load can safely be hoisted......Loads on the ends of the beam with a suspended center point V----------^----------V ??

Any help would be appreciated....want this to be as safe as possible

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2014 #2
    Turn your reference up side down. With that,the upward force is in the center, and the downward forces are at the ends.

4. Oct 14, 2014 #3
    Thank you.. I pondered over that... but is it in fact the same? Because the center lift point theoretically isnt applying an upward force..the two sides are just applying downward force on a center supported object? Or is it and I am over thinking it?

5. Oct 14, 2014 #4

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF.

Can you say more about your project? What will you be lifting? Is this project for schoolwork, or a personal project? If it is for schoolwork, do you have an adviser that you can talk this through with?

6. Oct 14, 2014 #5