Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with Force?

1. Jul 30, 2008 #1
    I'm trying to calculate the amount of force I will need to move a 9.6g object at an average speed of 450 feet/ second. So when I do this I use Force=Mass*Acceleration. Since acceleration is change in speed/change in time (both of which are initially 0) I come out with 450*9.6. This yeilds 4320. Now, either i'm doing something terrible wrong, or I just have my units incorrect. I am not even sure what unit this answer is in, so if someone could explain this to me it would be amazing... Also this is my first time ever using the forum so if I have posted it in the wrong spot could you please redirect me.

-Sincerly,
    Applemush

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 30, 2008 #2
    Actually I think I might have found my mistake. I was calculating how many grams of force it would take. So if I convert grams to pounds I get 8.8890384113 pounds, which is much much more reasonable. However if someone has spotted a mistake or a math error could they please tell me.

4. Jul 30, 2008 #3
    Applemush, there is not enough information in your problem : in empty space, the tiniest force will bring your mass to an arbitrary high speed provided you wait long enough

Now, do you guess where you got the units wrong ?

5. Jul 30, 2008 #4