Help with QM state vectors

In summary, A harmonic oscillator system is initially in state n=2 for time t<0. At time t>0, a perturbation occurs and the system is given by V(t) = sqrt(3/4)*h_bar*omega* (|2><1| + |1><2|). The task is to compute the probability amplitudes, however, the individual is unsure of how to work with the outer products of two state vectors and how mixing works. They ask for hints or links for help with this. They also inquire about the use of LaTeX in the forums and receive instructions on how to use it. Additionally, they ask for clarification on manipulating algebra with state vectors. They are provided with a useful calculation
Jumbuck
For my homework, I have a problem in which a (harmonic oscillator) system is prepared in state n=2 for t<0.

For time t>0, there is a perturbation given by

V(t) = sqrt(3/4)*h_bar*omega* (|2><1| + |1><2|)

After this I need to compute the probability amplitudes. However, my background is in engineering, so I'm unsure how to work with these outer products of two state vectors, or even how this mixing works. If anyone has any hints or links on how to work with these, I would appreciate it very much.

Also, for future reference, do these forums automatically generate LaTeX, or do you import the LaTeX equations I've seen in other posts?

Physics news on Phys.org
In these forums, you can get the $ ... $ environment by using the [ itex ] ... [ /itex] tags. And you can get the \[ ... \] environment with the [ tex ] ... [ /tex ] tags. (Remove the spaces to use those tags) (note the direction of the slash)

As to doing the algebra, just manipulate it formally. If you were faced with the product of |1><2| with |2>, that's given by |1><2|2> = |1>. Just remember that the distributive rules work (i.e. (A+B)C = AC + BC), but the commutative rule only works for scalars (i.e. for most S and T: [itex]ST \neq TS[/itex], but rS = Sr)

Hurkyl said: