Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

"Hey y'all!" -- Greetings from a Self-Starter

1. Dec 8, 2014 #1
    Hello. I'm John, and I'm 25.

Until recently, I was a part-time college student, and now I'm not. The degree I was going for, Computer Technology with a programming emphasis, was something I seemed to be proficient at, but it was also something that I have pretty much zero passion about. I didn't dislike it, per se, but I have not an ounce of drive for programming.

I'm almost glad that I couldn't go through with it, because this has given me time to self-learn what I really want to: physics and math (neither of which they have much incentive to have degrees in what basically amounts to a glorified technical college.)

I've long loved consuming popular and semi-popular information about science, physics specifically--I used to carry as many books from the public library on physics and astrophysics as I could and read them all. Now, the handwaving is nowhere near enough for me--I want to learn how physics really works, and that requires a whole set of skills revolving around something that, until I was an adult, I never knew I possessed the ability to acquire: mathematics.

See, when I was growing up, I was really turned-off by certain aspects of the way math was taught. That, combined with a few other, more personal, factors resulted in me shutting down and pretty much refusing to learn it on-pace. Thus, by the time I was in high school, I was pretty much behind (I was in honors classes for much of my tenure in everything except math.) By then, I thought I incapable of "getting it."