Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Higgs boson for dummies

1. Jul 6, 2012 #1
    Hey guys,

Being interested in science (and living in Switzerland), I've been reading a lot about the Higgs boson in mainstream news. Unfortunately, the best thing I can get out of that kind of report is the overused analogy of some celebrity moving in a crowd. I have practically no understanding of QFT, but I'm doing a masters in theoretical chemistry which means I do have a good grasp on QM. I was wondering if you guys could explain to me what is the big deal with the Higgs boson . I get it that it gives mass to particles, but that doesn't really mean much to me. Why isn't there a particle that gives charge to particles? If it gives mass to particles, isn't it intimately connected with the gravitational force (even though it is not the graviton)? How do people at CERN know that what they have detected is a boson and how they know its mass?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2012 #2

atyy

Science Advisor

4. Jul 9, 2012 #3
    My 'dummy' understanding is that the Higgs is the mass that is produced when mass-less ENERGY is converted into mass.
    The Higgs is NOT built from other particles, it acquires its mass DIRECTLY from mass-less energy.
    The decay of the Higgs is what produces OTHER particles which then combine and interact to produce other forms of mass & matter.

I would like to know your layman's description of the Higgs.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA

5. Jul 10, 2012 #4
    This statement by JayKosta is incorrect.

If, in a collision of elementary particles, there is energy available, any kind of elementary particle can be made directly out of that energy, without the Higgs as an intermediate state.

6. Jul 10, 2012 #5
    So why is the Higgs such an important piece of the puzzle? Maybe Kosta's statements is true for the formation of massive gauge bosons (is it)?