Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

High-speed vortex blimp

1. Nov 16, 2008 #1
    Hi,

I know this sounds crazy but I just found this really interesting idea at wwww.amasci.com. It's basicly a plan for a hovering heavier then air blimp, which can travel faster then the speed of sound, without making a sonic boom. It sounds like a UFO and I just want to know if its phyiscally possible.

The page can be found at http://www.amasci.com/amateur/vortgen.html Under the the title HIGH-SPEED VORTEX BLIMP about half way down the page.

Thx.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2008 #2

Danger

Gold Member

Welcome to PF, Rdunk.
    The guy uses a lot of fancy words, but I can't see any way in the world that the thing would even fly, let alone with the kind of performance he's proposing.

4. Nov 17, 2008 #3
    Why wouldn't it work?

5. Nov 17, 2008 #4

Danger

Gold Member

I'm an amateur, so I'm going to leave the analysis to the pros like Astronuc, Fred Garvin, etc.. It's possible that I'm wrong, but I don't think so. Call it a pilot's instinct on my part.

6. Nov 17, 2008 #5
    Ok, I'll wait for the experts.

BTW, thx for the welcome.

7. Nov 17, 2008 #6
    I might not be what you call an "expert", but no this will not work. There's so many things wrong with this idea that I could go on for hours about how ridiculous it is. But since I don't want to go through trouble I will just state the the speed of sound (or any speed for that matter) can not be reached using any method of friction with air as propulsion. Second, lets say if you could, there is nothing about this blimp thing that would cause it to not break the sound barrier. If anything it would make an even louder sonic boom do to its poor aerodynamics.

8. Nov 17, 2008 #7
    Ahh, of course the rotating "blimps" would be pushing air. So there would be no thrust.