1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hilbert's Grand Hotel Paradox

1. Feb 24, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Suppose that Hilbert's Grand HOtel is fully occupied on the day that the hotel closes all the even numbered rooms for maintenance. Show that all guests can remain at the hotel

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
    I am not quite sure how to solve this, my first thought was to move every guest in room 2n for n=1,2,3,..., to some multiple of 2n+1, but obviously these room are already occupied. I am really stumped on this one, any help is appreciated.

Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 24, 2013 #2

cepheid

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm not an expert in Number Theory, but it seems to me that you can apply a variation on the same trick that is used to add more guests to a fully-occupied Hilbert Hotel. The standard trick is that if the hotel is fully occupied, you move all the guests to even-numbered rooms 2n (of which there are infinitely-many), thus freeing up the odd-numbered ones 2n+1 to accomodate more guests.