Build Your Own Helium Leak Tester | 10-7 Flow Spec

• Thread starter dingpud
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Homemade
In summary, helium leak detectors can be bought for around $10,000, and are more sensitive to lower levels of helium. They are not very accurate, and require a good pumping system.
dingpud
Has anyone out there built any type of "bench top" helium leak detectors? I am just getting into this, and thought I would start a thread that I could post some information to. The spec seems to reference a flow of no more that 10-7.

And of course, I will post the wiki site...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helium_mass_spectrometer

This should be interesting...

Attachments

• varian_936-65sp_sn65j-016_leak_detector.jpg
    varian_936-65sp_sn65j-016_leak_detector.jpg
    24.2 KB · Views: 516
Engineering news on Phys.org
If you doing this yourself there are easier leak detectors to build.
The 'string and sticky tape solution' is to use a Pirani gauge and some sort of large hydrocarbon gas.
The pirani gauge relies on a hot wire in vacuum to measure air pressure, so spraying some nasty (probably now banned) can of hydrocarbon around the leaks get sucked into the vacuum and hits the wire causing a change in reading.

It's not as sensitive as Helium because it doesn't get through such small holes, and irt leaves you with a headache but it is cheap and easy - especially if you already have a pirani gauge on the system.

That's all new to me...thanks for the suggestion. Some sort of hybrid will come out of this...

I think it's the mass-spectrometer that's the tricky bit.

And you need a good pump. Most modern leak-detectors use turbo-pumps, older models like the one on the picture use diffusion pumps (with a liquid nitrogen cryotrap).

You probably need to spend at least about $10 000 on the pumps alone.

You probably need to spend at least about $10 000 on the pumps alone.

Holy crap...