1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework due online @ 9pm CST. 3 problems over Frictional forces.

1. Oct 26, 2008 #1
    Homework due online @ 11pm CST. 3 problems over Frictional forces.

ATTACHMENT TO HELP! it has diagrams and all. please this has taken much time to do, help :] I've used the format and rules in the sticky.

Well guys, basically, I am an AP physics C student who needs some help with his homework. I am not alone, seeing as I am with my friends doing this homework together. The homework is due online where you put the answers into the computer, yet out of 16 problems, we were unable to do 3(5 parts total) of them. We've made many attempts, so i'm just hoping you guys can help! Its due tonight :/ I have attached a PDF of the homework so you may look @ the diagrams of the problems. The numbers of the problems are #2 ; 11&12 ; 13&14

Problem 2 attachment!
    1. Three blocks in contact with each other are pushed across a rough horizontal surface by a 86 N Force as shown.(Look at PDF please) If the coefficient of kinetic friction between the blocks and the surface is .15, find the magnitude of the force exerted on the 7.8 kg block by the 11 kg block. Answers in units of N

2. Relevant equations

Frictional force = Normal force x coefficient of friction
    w = mg
    f = ma (yes basic i know!)

3. The attempt at a solution