1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Problem Stumping Me

1. Dec 16, 2006 #1
    RLC Circuit Homework Problem

Thia last HW problem is stumping me.

This is my first year of physics class, and I am working on some homework problems tonight. It's the last m/c question out of 30 that I am doing tonight, and I'm having a bit of trouble figuring this one out:

Question:
    When the instantaneous voltage and current in a RLC circuit are in phase...

Answer Choices are as follows:
    A. Inductive Reactance is ZERO.
    B. Capacitive Reactance is ZERO.
    C. Total Reactance is ZERO.
    D. Resistance is ZERO.

If someone can assist me with this last HW problem, I'd really appredciate it. Thanks! I tried o post this in the Introductory Physics Homework section, but could only start a new topic here in the advanced section.

HookedOnPhysics

Last edited: Dec 16, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 16, 2006 #2
    Still can't figure this one out. Does the term being "in phase" mean the voltage and current are equal?

I'll check back later.

HookedOnPhysics

4. Dec 16, 2006 #3

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

No, it means that the phase difference between the current and voltage is zero. Note that it's meaningless to say something like "voltage and current are equal". That's comparing apples and oranges.

If you do not know what the terms 'phase' and 'phase difference' mean in the context of AC circuits, you need to take a step back and hit the textbooks! Have you been taught what a phasor diagram is?

Last edited: Dec 16, 2006
  5. Dec 17, 2006 #4
    Hi Goku,