1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Strategies

1. Sep 23, 2011 #1
    This has bugged me for a long time, since I was an undergrad. What is the best strategy when doing challenging problems sets? And, what strategy do professors think you are using?

When doing problem sets by myself, I will invariably get stuck on one or more of the problems. Now, I am not opposed to spending 5+ hours on a single problem. But it gets to the point where you have to cut your losses. Just put down whatever your best guess is and move on to the next assignment (because there is a never ending queue of assignments waiting).

It seems like my classmates never have to do this. I think one thing that helps them is they have more collaboration. I try to collaborate with my classmates, but I am a little antisocial. I am not a prototypical nerd and I just don't mesh well with them. I go to office hours with my problems, but most of the time the TA is not willing to give me enough help to really get me going, unless I really have it worked down to a very specific question.

What is the normal thing to do when you are stuck on difficult graduate level physics problems?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 23, 2011 #2
    Cramster.com :approve:

Its helped me so much. Emulating the steps and understanding why the person did the steps (it takes a while) helps you mature both logically and mathematically. I've noticed that physics is a lot like translation, you have to translate english into mathematics. You will get better at it on your own by emulating certain strategies that cramster takes.

That's if cramster covers your book (I would hope).

Last edited: Sep 23, 2011
  4. Sep 23, 2011 #3