Honors Freshman Mechanics Book?

In summary: Landau's Mechanics : A First Course is not a prerequisite, but it is recommended for those who want to learn the material thoroughly.
Opus_723
I'm a freshman Physics major, currently studying intro Electromagnetism. I've recently started trying to get ahead of my school curriculum, so I'm working my way through Purcell instead of Giancoli, which my class uses. Anyway, I'm loving Purcell. It pushes me, since I'm not used to problems of that depth, but I can still get satisfying answers to all of them, even the ones in the back, if i work at them. But I'm starting to realize just how lame my mechanics introduction with Giancoli was in comparison. So I'm looking for a mechanics book I can review that's more at the level of an honors freshman course like Purcell is. I looked at Berkeley Volume One already, but its organization and style just rubs me the wrong way, I can't seem to get into it. Multiple suggestions are appreciated, since my library might not have some books.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Kleppner, Introduction to Mechanics.

Without a doubt... Introduction to Classical Mechanics by David Morin

Hah. Figures. I'd already looked for those two books at our library. My university doesn't have either one =-(

Are you in the US? If so, libraries have statewide networks that share books. I can order any book online to be delivered to any library in my city in less than 5 days. I've never not been able to find a book in this statewide network, regardless of topic. It covers all college/university libraries as well as normal ones. Coincidentally, my state university's library had Kleppner but not Purcell. (So I just ordered it.)

Opus_723 said:
Hah. Figures. I'd already looked for those two books at our library. My university doesn't have either one =-(