How are AC signals combined?

In summary, when connecting a stereo output to a mono input, it is not as simple as just combining the left and right channels. AC signals can cause cancellation and other problems, leading to poor sound quality. It is recommended to use combining resistor networks, such as adding 10 ohm resistors across each speaker output and taking a 1 K resistor from each output to a common 10 K resistor to ground. This will minimize interaction between the two channels and result in a better mono signal for the input of an amplifier.
Blenton
Ok I've got an output from a mp3 player which has two channels (L & R) however the device I'm connecting it to can only output mono sound, so what I did was merely connect the left and right channel wires together but what I'm wondering is AC signals are not so clear cut to me, I'm currently studying Electrical Engineering (2nd year), but it hasn't clicked in my head previously that AC signals are not simply additive. Would I really be getting both channels combined? And would there be cancellation or some other problem that would be detrimental to the sound quality?

Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
You should probably use combining resistor networks.

If you are taking speaker outputs and combining them, the problem is that they will sometimes be out of phase and one will feed power into the other. The output impedance of even small amplifiers is very low and can look like a short circuit to another speaker output.

It is safer (and probably sounds better) to put a 10 ohm resistor across each speaker output, then take a 1 K resistor from each speaker output to the same 10 K resistor to ground.
You can then take this output to the input of an amplifier as a mono signal.

This way, you will get minimum interaction between the two stereo channels.

Last edited: