Why Become a Physicist? - A High School Student's Curiosity

• Thread starter Senjai
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physicists
In summary, the conversation centers around a high school student's curiosity about the work of physicists and engineers. They have noticed that most of the questions they ask have already been answered, and they wonder how these professionals find new theories and discoveries to pursue. The experts in the conversation explain that this is due to their extensive education and that there are still many unanswered questions in the field. They also emphasize the importance of constantly learning and that technology is constantly advancing. The conversation also touches on the idea that repetitive calculations are more common in engineering, but there is still room for new discoveries and advancements in that field as well. In summary, the conversation highlights the continuous learning and exploration involved in the fields of
Senjai
I'm a senior high school student, in my last year. Physics forums have helped me numerous times with any questions i have had. But i have noticed a lingering question of mine. In high school physics, (i hold a 98% Physics 12 mark at the moment), i have noticed there is very little to.. Build on. I don't understand how physicists explore theories or even come up with them. Everything i ask, already has some sort of answer. And no doubt, most likely due to my limited education on the topic. Why become a phyisicist? Or an engineer of a sort. I don't understand how it could be, fun. I liek physics, I enjoy doing it. But i don't understand how someone could pursue a theory and find an answer even though it has been done many, many times already. Mind you, i don't understand how I could. I enjoy what I'm learning, but i assume it will get boring as time goes by. My career path will most likely be in commerce, but I am still curious to my future. And, that's just one of many questions. It may appear to be a hazy question, bu