Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How atmospheric humidity is measured

1. Jul 8, 2003 #1
    it is not a myth that on some days our hair seems to not want to cooperate with whatever style we've chosen (this is especially true for women's hair styles). meteorologists use an instrument known as a hair hygrometer to measure the humidity in the atmosphere, because human hair has been found to be extremely sensitive to humidity.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 9, 2003 #2
    Yes your right, if that is a question or statement I am unsure, I agree either way.

4. Jul 10, 2003 #3

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Another way is with a psychrometer - a wet and dry thermometer.

5. Jul 10, 2003 #4
  6. Jul 14, 2003 #5

russ_watters

Well, it depends on your job. I'm an HVAC engineer, so I use the psyc chart.

7. Jul 16, 2003 #6
    Once at school, i a new way to calculate humidity came up to my ming (well, it might not be new, but i never saw it in any book !). Btw, it also might be not really accurate.
    1-Get a can of iron.
    2-Fill it with ice, put a thermometer inside it.
    3-As soon as u see drops of water on the outer surface of the can, look at the temprature that the thermometer is telling.
    4-The temprature that u have just taken is the temprature at which the humidity of air round the can became 100%.
    5-Use charts to know the saturation of air at that temprature. (call it S1)
    6-Take the temprature of the place, away from the can.
    7-Use charts again to know the saturation of air at this temprature. (call it S2)
    Now simply, the humidity is (S1/S2)*100%

Is my idea right ?

8. Jul 17, 2003 #7

russ_watters

Except for two things - you need the surface temperature of the outside of the can. Also, you don't need to do the calculation - the psyc chart has all sorts of info about air at a given set of conditions. But yes, that will work.