Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How best to learn C

1. Feb 6, 2010 #1

AK2

I'm presently an engineering undergraduate student. Learning C language is very important for my degree program. I'm using Sam's Teach Yourself C in 21 days. Its obvious I can't learn C in 21 days. I have covered 10 chapters out of the 21 chapter book. Its kind of frustrating learning C that I had to slow down my pace and look through the first 10 chapters. So what is the best way to learn C programming. I read some where that C is a programmer's programmer language. C is the first computer program I am learning. Any advice will be welcome

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 6, 2010 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

The same way a violinist gets to Carnegie Hall: "Practice, practice, practice!"

4. Feb 6, 2010 #3
    Throw the book out through the window and start to code.

5. Feb 6, 2010 #4

AK2

I have been practicing but I'm losing interest. Are there any sites where I can get problems to practice on since I've done all the problems in the chapters I have covered so far.

How will that help me?

6. Feb 6, 2010 #5
    You can't learn swimming from books. You actually have to get in the water at some point.
    The same is with coding. You actually need to write code to learn it well.
    Sit at your computer. Your C compiler should have a reference, use that for help and write code. Again and again.

The only "difficult" thing in C with which I seen ppl (who never programmed in any language before) having issues with are the pointer mechanism, & and * operators, and array addressing. Type conversions should be easy. Rest of C is self-explanatory.

If you are bored with problems, start to write small programs. Find something which excite your imagination and make a program :P

7. Feb 6, 2010 #6

AK2

Thanks. I will take into practice what you just posted.

8. Feb 6, 2010 #7