How did we get ahead of light?

• Thread starter imisscarl
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Light
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of looking back in time when observing distant stars and the limitations of seeing the Big Bang. The first question asks about the expansion of the universe and how it affects our view of distant stars. The response explains that the light we receive from these stars is time-delayed due to the expansion of the universe. The second question wonders why we can't see the Big Bang itself if we can see objects that are only 100 million years post-Bang. The response clarifies that the surface of last scattering is opaque to photons, but other methods such as using neutrino telescopes or gravity waves are being explored. The conversation concludes with a welcoming message and an invitation to seek answers from genuine scientists.
imisscarl
Hello all.

I'm no scientist, I just love reading about astronomy and watching Cosmos repeatedly, so please excuse me if the answer is super-obvious and known to everyone. I completely fail at math, so if anyone who answers could do it in plain english it would be GREATLY appreciated, equations will be utterly wasted on me I'm afraid.

I understand that when we look out into space, the view we have of stars gets older in relation to how far away they are due to the speed of light and the enormous distances it must travel.. some light we see is only a few dozen years old, some (not with the naked eye obviously) is billions of years old.

So my question is actually two-fold: