How Do Levers Work? Explained Simply

• Thread starter pete
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Work
In summary, the conversation revolves around understanding how levers work and how to use free body diagrams to analyze them. There is confusion about calculating the forces and moments on levers, especially when multiple levers are involved. The expert suggests drawing free body diagrams and making certain assumptions to understand the underlying physics of levers. They also clarify that the moment on a lever is equal on both ends, and the forces to consider are only the ones at the ends of the lever. The expert also gives an example of using a crowbar as a lever to illustrate how levers work.
pete
So my last drawing was too confusing so I’ve tried to sketch it as simply as possible to explain. In the first picture a lever in red is prying the two blue parts apart. The Blue parts are fixed.
I’m not too good at all this but as I understand it the arm of the lever is twice as long on the side with the force being applied so the force is doubled, then equal applied to both half's of the blue part.
Given that I’ve understood that correctly then in the second picture the same is happening except that the lever instead of acting on the inside of the blue part is acting on another lever. The first lever is 3 to 1 so that’s 1.5 pushing on the pivot and 1.5 on the next lever and so on.
What I’m asking is do levers work in sequence like this or do you calculate it somehow as one long lever? Or is it all completely wrong?
levers_on_levers_3.jpg

Attachments

• levers_on_levers_3.jpg
    levers_on_levers_3.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 1,051
Engineering news on Phys.org