Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do you conquer boringness

1. Nov 23, 2006 #1
    how do you conquer boringness.....

I am studying CFD book and its only 5 pages that i am feeling sick of it....
    am trying to increase my curiousity but sleep is taking over:rofl:
    but its very important that i finish most of syllabus today,otherwise i dont know what will happen to me..........:cry:

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 23, 2006 #2
    Pour some cold water on your face. Nice, cold water, flowing laminarly down from your faucet, splashing onto your face like a turbulent rapid. Almost as if it was approximately a bunch of finite polyhedra connected by the incompressible... oh, sorry.

4. Nov 24, 2006 #3
    What is CFD?

5. Nov 24, 2006 #4

Danger

Gold Member

Cooking For Dummies.
    November, the term 'boringness' would imply that you cause boredom. Just as the term 'nausious' means that you cause nausea, not suffer from it.
    I believe that what you are referring to is boredom. And I not only don't experience it, I literally can't understand the concept. If I don't have anything to do, I think about things. When I get too tired to think about things, I go to sleep. How can anyone with more than a dozen functional brain cells hooked together get bored?

6. Nov 24, 2006 #5

BobG

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

This is a little vague. I'm not sure if you mean, "How do you become a master of boringness?" or consider it a disease that needs to be cured (I'm horribly offended if you mean the latter! :grumpy: )

Personally, I found the character George Garvey, the hero of Ray Bradbury's short story "The Watchful Poker Chip of H. Matisse", to be an inspiration that allowed me great success in mastering the art of boringness.

7. Nov 24, 2006 #6