Graphing Phase & Trajectory Solutions: A Simple Guide

• Thread starter physicsss
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Graph
In summary, to graph the trajectory of a specific solution given below, you need to plot x'(t) VS x(t). If you are not familiar with MATLAB I can explain how to input the functions if you're having trouble. However, if you need to do this in maple or whatever, just use the same approach, however I cannot help you with the syntax using that program as I have no experience using it.
physicsss
I know how to graph the phase plane of a general solution but how do I graph the trajectory of the specific solution given below?

Attachments

• untitled.JPG
    untitled.JPG
    3.8 KB · Views: 444
Physics news on Phys.org
Typically a phase plane is composed of an infinite number of trajectories. The initial conditions of a system determine which specific trajectory applies to the system with its given set of initial conditions. You have a specific equation - let's call it x(t). In order to draw its trajectoy we need to plot x'(t) VS x(t). If I were to plot this in MATLAB I would use the following commands

first I'm going to determine how long I want to plot this for
>>t = linspace(0,10,1000);

this makes a vector t that is composed of 1000 equally spaced numbers between 0 and 10.

>>xt = your given function here;
>>xpt = take the derivative of the function above and code it here;

>>plot(xt,xpt) this plots xpt on the y-axis and xt on the x axis
>>xlabel('x(t)')
>>ylabel('x dot(t)')
>>title('single trajectory of x(t)')
>>grid on this will add a grid to your plot for easier reading

If you are not familiar with MATLAB I can explain how to input the functions if you're having trouble. However, if you need to do this in maple or whatever, just use the same approach, however I cannot help you with the syntax using that program as I have no experience using it.