Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do you learn best? What is your style?

1. Oct 19, 2013 #1
    To learn a science concept, I need to see real world examples (common stuff too so nothing far off for the common fellow) to understand it. When I read an explanation of the concept, I will be able to understand it a bit but not truly grasp what it truly means and the implications of it unless I get an example of it in use.

For example, I'm currently studying the chapter of General Chemistry on States of Matter: Liquids and Solids and the the section of heats or vaporization and heat of fusion. I understood what they meant but it wouldn't stick well. It only finally stuck once I saw the example about how a refrigerator works (A fluid such as ammonia or CCl2F2 is compressed into liquid state and then when released, it turns into a gas. When it turns into a gas due to the released pressure, it absorbs heat is also the heat released by a freezing tray of ice.) there was also an example of this in use to calculated how much CCli2F2 was required to freeze a certain amount of water. At this point, I finally got it and it all clicked into place. When textbooks lack real world examples or enough of them, I instead search online for examples of applications and uses of various concepts. Sometimes its hard to do so, especially to find it in a simple form but it's worth it when I can say "Oh! So that's how it works". I like to learn applied knowledge. I suppose that why I'm so drawn to engineering rather than a hard science major.